My Sand Collection

I love travel.  Unfortunately, I lack funds and resources to do so regularly;  I’ve probably taken 2 or 3 big trips in my lifetime.  That is why I collect sand.
*
Back in high school, I started asking vacationing friends, penpals and family to bring me back/send me a piece of the exotic land they were visiting — literally.  “Hey, can you bring me back some sand or dirt in a little zip lock bag for me?”  I sounded a little insane, but they complied.
*
When I was 18 my boyfriend at the time went on a tour around Europe with a few other students from our graduating class.  He knew about my unusual collection (which was very small at the time), and he came back with rocks from the ruins of Pompeii, dirt from the Ancient Grounds in Rome, pebbles from the base of the Eiffel Tower, pebbles from Versailles, dirt from Saint Calisto’s catacomb in Rome, and dirt from the hills surrounding Lake Lucern in Switzerland.  My collection was growing and was nevermore limited to California beaches.
*
My obsession with little bottles to put my lovely pieces of the earth soon followed.  Not all of my sand/dirt/rocks are in bottles/jars.  I am in constant search of the right ones.
*
I have a few bottles from my own travels, besides the stuff from California:
*
Savannah, Georgia
Lake Allatoona, Georgia
Bay Minette, Alabama
New Orleans, Louisiana
Pensacola, Florida
Baja Malibu, Mexico
Prague, Czech Republic
Florence, Italy
*
And below are detailed photos of my sand collection, composed of sand, dirt, rocks and shells from all over the world.  Soon enough I’ll need to get a bigger shelf unit….
*
Rome, Hawaii, Italy, France, Georgia, Florida, New Orleans, Dominican Republic

Rome, Hawaii, Italy, France, Georgia, Florida, New Orleans, Dominican Republic

New York, Alabama, Germany, Malibu, Paris, Georgia

New York, Alabama, Germany, Malibu, Paris, Georgia

Florence, Prague, Rome, Australia, Switzerland

Florence, Prague, Rome, Australia, Switzerland

Philippines, Hawaii, Mexico, San Francisco

Philippines, Hawaii, Mexico, San Francisco

Kuwait, Redondo Beach, London, Arizona, Palm Springs, Yosemite

Kuwait, Redondo Beach, London, Arizona, Palm Springs, Yosemite

Leave a Reply

